Concept:  Race Meeting
Date:  June 19th to June 23rd, 2012
Address:  Ascot Racecourse
Ascot, SL5 7JX
Tel:  0 87 0722 7227
Restaurants/ Bars:  Windsor Forest Restaurant, Panoramic Restaurant,
          Trackside Club Lounge, Carriages Restaurant, Sandringham Restaurant,
          Bessborough Restaurant, Imperial Events Village,
          Parade Ring Restaurant, Old Paddock Restaurant,
          Imperial Events Courtyard, Private Boxes, Private Chalets,
          Queen Anne Rooms
Architects/ Interior Design/ Artwork:  HOK Sport
Photo Credit:  © RPM

Details:  From 1711 to 1901, Ascot´s administration was undertaken by the
          Master of the Buckhounds
          Her Majesty’s Representative - Johnny Weatherby
          Five series race categories, four of them are by race distance - Middle
          Distance, Mile, Sprint and Long Distance
          Ascot has the largest number of private boxes in Europe, 255,
          accommodating 4,876 guests
          Ascot has 175 stable boxes, accommodating an average of 100
          runners per day
          Around 400 helicopters and 1,000 limousines descend on
Royal Ascot
          every year
          Official Timekeeper - Longines
          QIPCO sponsors top jockey and top trainer awards
          Ascot TV is exclusively partnering with Vogue TV, for the first time, to
          bring fashion news from the meeting
          Approximately 1,000 members of the media are accredited to Royal
          The Prince of Wales’s Stakes, run this year as ‘The 150th Anniversary of
          The Prince Of Wales’s Stakes’
          This year presenters:  Sir Roger Bannister, Sally Gunnell, Colin Jackson,
          Sir Steve Redgrave, Jenson Button, Lee Westwood, Virginia Wade,
          Henry Blofeld, Katherine Jenkins, Michael McIntyre, Robson Green,
          David Walliams, Lara Stone, Edward Parker
          Ridding Legends:  Lester Piggott, Pat Eddery, Willie Carson,
          Steve Cauthen, Kevin Darley

History:  1711 - Queen Anne saw potential for a racecourse at Ascot, called
          East Cote
          First race meeting at Ascot took place
          Two more race meetings took place
          1727 - John Cheny published a book with the conditions of each race
          1752 - Attending to the racing at Ascot became socially important
          1793 - George Slingsby erected the first permanent building
          1813 - Parliament ensured that Ascot Heath would be kept and used as
          a racecourse
          1820 - Alterations were made to the Royal Stand by John Nash
          following the orders of King George IV
          1823 - The term Ladies’ Day seems to be have been first used
          1825 - Implementation of the Royal Procession by King George IV -
          becoming an annual tradition
          1838 - Queen Victoria´s first visit as sovereign
          Construction of a new stand
          1896 - Erection of a clock tower on The Grandstand
          1901 - New role created for the King´s Representative, the first man to
          undertake this role was Viscount Churchill
          Demolition of the three stands in the Royal Enclosure, two others were
          1926 - Extension of the Royal Enclosure buildings, erection of a new Iron
          1929 - Construction of the Tote building
          1937 - George VI and Queen Elizabeth attended their first Ascot race
          1940 - Racing at Ascot was cancelled
          1943 - Racing at Ascot was resumed
          1945 - Princess Elizabeth attended her first Ascot race meeting
          1946 - Major Crocker Bulteel was appointed as Clerk of the Course
          Duke of Norfolk was appointed as the King´s Representative
          1952 - The Queen’s involvement with racing began
          1961 - The Grandstand was demolished
          Queen Elizabeth II Stand was built by Wimpey
          2004 - Last meeting in the old facilities
          Demolition of the stand
          Redevelopment programme started
          2005 - Royal Ascot was staged at York Racecourse
          2006 - Opening of the new Ascot stand, designed by HOK Sport
          2012 - The Golden Jubilee Stakes becomes The Diamond Jubilee Stakes

Races:  The Queen Anne Stakes (Group One) - Founded in 1840
          The King’s Stand Stakes (Group One) - First run in 1837
          The St James’s Palace Stakes (Group One) - First run in 1834
          The Coventry Stakes (Group Two) - First run in 1890
          The Ascot Stakes (Handicap) - First run in 1839
          The Windsor Castle Stakes (Listed) - First run in 1839
          The Jersey Stakes (Group Three) - Replaced the second leg of The
          Triennial Stakes in 1919
          The Windsor Forest Stakes (Group Two) - New addition to the Royal
          Meeting in 2004
          The Prince of Wales’s Stakes (Group One) - First run in 1862
          The Royal Hunt Cup (Handicap) - First run in 1843
          The Queen Mary Stakes (Group Two) - First run in 1921
          The Sandringham Stakes (Listed Handicap) - Originally registered as The
          Fern Hill Stakes, renamed in 2002
          The Norfolk Stakes (Group Two) - First run in 1843
          The Ribblesdale Stakes (Group Two) - First run in 1919
          The Gold Cup (Group One) - Founded in 1807
          The Britannia Stakes (Handicap) - First run in 1928
          The Tercentenary Stakes (Group Three) - Became the new name for The
          Hampton Court Stakes in 2011
          The King George V Stakes (Handicap) - First run in 1946
          The Albany Stakes (Group Three) - First run in 2002
          The King Edward VII Stakes (Group Two) - Formerly known as The Ascot
          Derby, inaugurated in 1834
          The Coronation Stakes (Group One) - First run in 1840
          The Wolferton Handicap Stakes (Listed) - First run in this form in 2002
          The Queen’s Vase (Group Three) - First run in 1838
          The Buckingham Palace Stakes (Handicap) - First run in 2002
          The Chesham Stakes (Listed) - First run in 1919
          The Hardwicke Stakes (Group Two) - First  run in 1879
          The Diamond Jubilee Stakes (Group One) - Formerly known as The Cork
          and Orrery Stakes, renamed in 2002
          The Wokingham Stakes (Handicap) - Inaugurated in 1813
          The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes (Handicap) - First run in 1914, originally
          registered as The Bessborough Stakes, renamed in 1999
          The Queen Alexandra Stakes (Conditions) - First run in 1864
Royal Ascot 2012 6
Royal Ascot 2012 7
Royal Ascot 2012 8
Royal Ascot 2012 9
Royal Ascot 2012 10
Royal Ascot 2012 11
Royal Ascot 2012 12
Royal Ascot 2012 13
Royal Ascot 2012 14
Royal Ascot